Precise precision in unprecise eyes

I just spent five minutes trying to think of a creative title for this piece. I wish I could have fit in a couple more “precise” in the title, but alas, I couldn’t. Better luck in the next blog.

Anyway, hello my fellow peers and/or future blog readers who are browsing my beginnings now that I’m famous (presuming I actually get famous and this blog isn’t scrapped for whatever reason; I don’t know the future. I’m just trying to cover all my bases right now). For this week’s assigned blog post, we (“we” meaning the students in my class of writing 200 for the fall semester of 2016) were assigned to reflect over chapter titled “On Precision” in the book Letters and Life, by Bret Lott. As the title of the chapter suggests, as well as the title of this blog, it is about precisions, and specifically precision in writing (at least that’s what I got out of it).

So one of the portions of this reading that I found interesting was the story between the author and another writer, and how he was asking that lady about a story she had written, and why she wrote the story the way that she had. The conclusion to that section was interesting to me because it basically indicated that sometimes people discard ideas or write completely different stories from what they had been inspired by, due to not valuing the idea, or fear that it might not be accepted. In simpler terms, sticking to cliche ideas instead of breaking out into original ideas (because the cliche is what everyone is expecting and therefore won’t hate I guess? On this side note, I’ve always found the idea of “cliche” to be weird because we’re told to avoid it since everyone else uses cliche ideas or language, and one must always be original. But if everyone is avoiding cliche, doesn’t that make cliche ideas no longer the cliche, as no one is now performing cliche acts of writing or storytelling? Just a random though). Anyway, I found this interesting because I myself know that I have changed my stories because I want them to fit a more cliche or acceptable audience, i.e. my parents during high school. This, of course, resulted in me never writing the story I wanted to tell, or even finishing the story I was telling at that time, as I wasn’t really into that story I was making.
The essence of this section was basically to be precise to one’s self and their writing, or at least that’s kind of what I got out of it.

Leave a Reply

